Governor’s Blue Ribbon Livestock Auction

Supporting Wisconsin Youth for 50 Years

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Livestock Auction Results - 2017


WEST ALLIS, Wis. – Aug. 10, 2017 – Wisconsin State Fair Officials and members of the Blue Ribbon Sale of Champions Foundation are pleased to announce the 49th Annual Governor’s Blue Ribbon Livestock Auction at the 2017 Wisconsin State Fair was a success. The evening raised a total of $267,000.

Bucky Badger and the UW-Marching Band welcomed bidders and fairgoers to the Case IH Coliseum and set the tone for an exciting night. The exhibitors and their champion animals joined Governor Walker on stage as the auction kicked off. Bidding commenced with the Grand Champion Steer (Crossbred) exhibited by Lauren May of Mineral Point, Wis. in Iowa County. The 1377-pound steer sold for $50,000 with the winning bid from Meijer and Bob Lannin Racing. (Donated to the Governor's Blue Ribbon Livestock Auction Scholarship Fund)

pdfView Full Press Release


Mission Statement

The Governor's Blue Ribbon Livestock Auction has been supporting Wisconsin Youth actively involved in agriculture for 50 years.

Our mission is to educate and encourage Wisconsin State Fair youth exhibitors to produce high quality livestock that will provide wholesome and nutritious products while providing a platform for enhancing and strengthening the agriculture community of Wisconsin, and to foster better understanding of the agriculture industry throughout our society.